TheBeerCap

A social icon

The Start of the Adventure

with one comment

Erics

I overheard my mates one day discussing the possibility of heading off to the township to check out some taverns and shebeens. With my slight interest in what that would be like, I butted in, asking if I could come with. The next few days followed until one quite Saturday turned into a cultural shock of note.

We entered what to me seemed like a pretty run down place from the outside, and found after being inside that my assumptions were more than correct. It was hot, smelt, and frankly unpleasant. But to continue with my cultural exchange (and not offend locals) I tried my best to act happy.

Beers were bought, and we sat in our group of four chatting about the place we found, all trying to act settled in a rather uncomfortable environment. This was to only become worse as we were called by some locals to join them in a hotter, smaller room where they took interest into what exactly a ‘white’ was doing in such a place.

The spotlight felt like it was on me, and this was quite a hot sticky light too with flies hustling about and sweet dripping down my forhead – not what I hoped I was going to find in the township.

Collectively, we sensed one anothers awkwardness and will to depart. Our beers went down and we made our way back into the car, and decided to locate another venue.

Written by techran

March 10, 2009 at 5:21 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Appreciate it! Still one more first class blog post, undoubtedly the reason we arrive to all your internet site quite often.

    Hydrolyze Guy

    February 18, 2010 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

